JAZZ FEST POSTERS IN NEW ORLEANS

by rodriguezfineartprintsca

2017-FRANCIS X. PAVY.jpeg

Here is the poster for the New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival for 2017.  I really hope one day to be able to do one of these things.  Such a cool project.  This year’s poster was done by a New Orleans artist named Francis X. Pavy.  I’m not sure, but I think he’s done a couple in the past, and maybe some Mardi Gras posters as well.  Fingers crossed that one day I might get to do one myself.  Usually the artists are local New Orleans artists, so I’d always hoped I would qualify.

Here are some other posters from previous years:

2014-TERRANCE OSBORNE.jpeg

This one represents the Preservation Hall Jazz Band and was done by Terrance Osborne of New Orleans.

2010-TONY BENNETT.jpeg

This is a portrait of Louis Prima, a famous trumpet player from New Orleans.  He was always on TV and in movies when I was a kid.  This was painted by Anthony Benedetto, better known as Tony Bennett.  He is not from New Orleans, but if Tony Bennett agrees to do your poster, who’s complaining?

2006- JAMES MICHALOPOULOS.jpeg

This is Fats Domino by James Michalopoulos.

1995- GEORGE RODRIGUE.jpeg

This is Louis Armstrong by George Rodrigue.  He’s the artist famous for the Blue Dog paintings.  I always get compliments on my versatility when I am selling my posters at Tales of the Cocktail.  People are always amazed that I can do the Blue Dog and the Tales posters as well.  They love the Blue Dog.

