THE UNICORN SONATA

by rodriguezfineartprintsca

18485299_1741060479242755_102349558885985713_n.jpeg

(A friend scanned some of the images from the book and emailed them off to me.  And some I got off the internet.  Sorry things aren’t better quality.)

Peter S. Beagle wrote a novel in 1968 called The Last Unicorn.  It was ranked one of the all-time best fantasy novels, and in 1982 it was made into an animated film as well.  Due to popular demand, he wrote The Unicorn Sonata about 1996 and I was asked to illustrate the book and the cover art.  We started with a phone conversation so I could learn about the world that Peter had created.  He had very definite ideas of what Unicorns were not, but I had a little harder time figuring out what they actually were.  I remember that they were not goats and not horses, but a little of both.  Very delicate horses maybe?

I was fascinated by Peter Beagle.  He called himself the black sheep of his family.  His uncles were Moses, Raphael and Issac Soyer, three noted painters of the Social Realist school.  I thought it was funny because when I mentioned I was doing the book, everyone knew The Last Unicorn and said it was one of their favorite books.  But when I told a lot of people who his uncles were, they didn’t recognize the names.  I always liked Raphael Soyer’s work in particular, but I guess no one ever made an animated movie from his paintings, so he didn’t have the name recognition.  Anyway, Peter S. Beagle, hardly a blacksheep.

It has been a long time since I read The Unicorn Sonata, so my memory is a little hazy, but it concerns a thirteen year old girl from L.A. who follows some enchanting music across an invisible border by the mailbox on the corner, into Shi’rah, a land that is inhabited by satyrs, unicorns, phoenixes and other mystical creatures.  Eventually she brings her grandmother across with her to help save the Unicorns and their music.

UNICORNS.jpeg

There were a total of eleven illustrations plus the cover art.  I remember being inspired by old medieval tapestries with some of the pieces.  The project paid decently, so I was able to spend a fair amount of time on each piece, and I did some in oils and some in acrylics.  It was one of the last projects I did traditionally, before I switched to digital art.  I still show the cover art in my illustration portfolio.

I remember that the art director had always planned the title to go right in the center.  We had been talking about the cover as a border design, so that was where my thinking was focused, and what I was doing for them.  I did three designs for borders, and they all were pretty decent.  But two hours before FedEx arrived, I realized I wasn’t completely happy, and maybe I could do a cover design that just had the title dropped in over the artwork.  I quickly did a rough layout, basically I visualized it exactly the way I finished it, right from the start.  But it was odd, I presented three very tight comps of borders, and one very loose pencil sketch of the cover as it was eventually done, with a note explaining what I had in mind. It was so nice that they could interpret my scribbles and give me permission to finish that version.  So often when a client has something specific in mind, like a border design in this case, they can’t open themselves up to a different direction.  But the whole project went like that.  I made notes of the scenes that I felt would call for illustrations, and they did as well.  I think we agreed on almost every illustration.
ABUELITA TENDS THE UNICORNS.JPG
In the end, I don’t believe Peter Beagle was completely in love with my illustrations, but the art director was.  I can’t find his name, but if I do, I will post it later with an apology.
SWIMMING WITH THE MERPEOPLE.JPG

GOODBYE.JPG

