Simplify!

by rodriguezfineartprintsca

Once I decided to simplify, I narrowed things down to an albino alligator embodying the New Orleans spirit of Laissez les bon temps roulez!  Roulez-ing all over the French Quarter and I didn’t need all the extra people to show that, since the gator was the most exciting element to begin with.  I thought in this case to follow the Less is More attitude.  So these were the stages my design went through to that aim.

Image

As this was evolving I started to develop an idea of what I wanted it to look like.  I kept leaning toward a very deconstructed Cubist look influenced by the work of Robert Delaunay, and driving the design in that direction.

Image

  • Robert Delaunay series of the Eiffel Tower

I was pretty happy with the end results but after talking with the folks at Tales of the Cocktail, I came to understand that they were thinking of giving the Tales event a more international flavor.  Or at least not focusing as much on the fact that it takes place in New Orleans.  So we scrapped this direction and the design never got past these preliminary drawings.

 

 

