Color Inspiration for Tales Poster

by rodriguezfineartprintsca

I was designing the poster for this years Tales of the Cocktail, knowing I wanted to do something with a sort of Cubist/Art Deco look to it.  That got me started.  My thinking about color evolved much more slowly.  At first I was keeping the color very greyed down and I liked it that way.  But then I started throwing in more and more vibrant colors and eventually ideas started coming to me.  I kept thinking about a painting by Edward Hopper of an usherette in a movie theater, and that reminded me of my favorite Van Gogh painting of a pool room/cafe.  I think Van Gogh described it as the kind of place that one could go mad in.  Not exactly what I wanted to convey in my Tales poster, but the color was still beautiful, so I let those two images inspire my color choices.

Also known as "The Usherette" by Edward Hopper

NEW YORK MOVIE: Also known as “The Usherette” by Edward Hopper

THE NIGHT CAFE: by Vincent van Gogh

THE NIGHT CAFE: by Vincent van Gogh

